Four Seasons Seychelles at Desroches Island


Seychelles is an archipelago in the Indian Ocean, situated about 1,600 kilometres (1,000 miles) from the east coast of Africa – northeast of Madagascar and just a few degrees south of the equator. The archipelago consists of over 115 islands, with Desroches Island located to the southwest in the Amirante Islands. Victoria is the Seychelles capital, situated on the main island of Mahé. Most of Seychelles’ islands are uninhabited, with nearly 50% of the total land under natural conservation, making Seychelles a leader in sustainable tourism. Seychelles has a small population of just over 92,000 people, displaying a multiracial blend of African, Asian and European descent and creating the unique Creole culture. English and French are the official languages, along with Seychellois Creole.

Desroches Island